Arrival

Arrival (2016)
PG 13 / 1h 56m / Drama, Sci Fi
Critic’s Choice Award Winner (2016) – Best Adapted Screenplay
Critic’s Choice Award Winner (2016) – Best Sci-Fi Movie
Academy Award Winner (2017) – Best Achievement in Sound Editing

If you could see your life from start to finish, would you change things?

Sometimes there are films that portray something deeper and more meaningful than perceived; there are plots that hit you and linger for days and days. This is one of those.

I’m still thinking about it. I’m still crying about it.

I appreciate the non linear progression angle so very much. I appreciate the strong and emotional female lead. I appreciate the cinematography. I appreciate the nod to the importance of language in advanced society. I appreciate that so much of the story was subtle and also just.. poignant.

I would recommend this for those that love a deep story that challenges humans and our perception of time. I have high hopes for it for the upcoming Oscar season.

This is truly a vague entry but it’s hard to talk about it without ruining it for a new viewer and I just can’t bring myself to do it. See this film. Understand it. Learn from it.

9.5/10

img_1589

Leave a comment